Club #94: Emerald Bridge Club in Eugene, OR

September 15

Eugene is the home of the University of Oregon. The city has a very nice club that was recently remodeled. There was a lively discussion on a variety of topics which everyone seemed to enjoy. One question was, “what was the most embarrassing thing that happened to you on the tour?’ I gave them a hand that I went down 5, but that was a lie because the most embarrassing was about to happen in Canada. I held S-x H-Kxx D-KQxxx C-KJxx. My partner opened 1H, pass, I bid 2D, then 2s by LHO, and 4H by partner, pass, now what? Well I found the worst answer and my most embarrassing moment. First I bid 4NT, and my partner bid 5 spades. Oops. You can’t bid 4NT playing key card if you can’t stand the answer of 2 plus the queen of trumps. As if 4NT wasn’t bad enough, I was so upset with what I had done, I passed 5 spades and my poor partner had to play in his 3-1 fit in their suit! Jeff Taylor and I did manage to win in Eugene while Elaine played with Mary Egger and finished 3rd. I had a fun time at a very nice club.

Jim Wolf, Unit 479 president, Craig, and Jeff Taylor, former District 20 president

Jim Wolf, Unit 479 president, Craig, and Jeff Taylor, former District 20 president

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

