Club #50: Shadowfax Bridge Club in Chester, NJ

June 7th – Chester, NJ Shadowfax Bridge Club

For days I would mention to people my ‘last’ stop would be in Chester NJ. Where is Chester NJ? I told Jan Weber that I would have to come back to Chester some other time because they had no game on Tuesday. She said, ‘No problem, we’ll have a game Tuesday instead of Wednesday’. I was wondering what facility is this flexible.

It seems that Laureen Alcock loves bridge and wanted a bridge club in her home. So her husband built her a house with a large room upstairs that holds eight tables comfortably and another room takes the overflow. Laureen joined forces with Jan Weber to form the Shadowfax BC. Where that name came from I don’t exactly know but I do know that Laureen used to have a horse named Shadow. This house is on a small horse farm. I played with District President, Glenda Calkins and we had a very nice game. Talk about a friendly game; many of the players at this game have been friends for years. I still don’t know exactly where Chester is, but I am glad I went there.

Craig with Jan Weber and Laureen Alcock

Craig with Jan Weber and Laureen Alcock

That marks the halfway point of Craig’s club tour, but check back next week for a “bonus” club visit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Club #50: Shadowfax Bridge Club in Chester, NJ

  1. Keith Wells says:

    Hi, Craig,

    Shadowfax was Gandalf’s horse in the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Leave a comment